top of page

International Womxn's Day

By Indica Stephenson


I run the shower until I’m sure the water is hot enough

to loosen the layer of doubts spoiling my skin

and I scrub away the voices of my childhood

that have kept those doubts attached

They say, “little girl, you talk too much”So she spoke less.

But yes, I have a lot to say and I know there are people listening. 

They say, “child! you walk so loud, be quiet.”

So she tiptoed.

But I will walk proudly with purpose. 

You will know when I arrive.

They ask, “why do you laugh so loud?”

So she apologized after every burst of happiness.

But I am no longer sorry for expressing myself when I find enjoyment. 

The happier, the louder. 

They say, “you’re bossy, no one likes a bossy girl.”

So she stopped taking charge and waited to follow.

But I am a leader and I lead with grace. 

They say, “you ask too many questions.”

But I just want to understand why I am being told to be quieter, smaller, less noticeable. 

So I am going to ask the questions everyone else is trying to avoid. 

They say, “such big dreams” and shake their heads.

Who is anyone to determine whether I am capable of achieving my dreams. 

Yes! I have dreams! And they are grand.

When I shut off the water I remain standing 

and let the steam press into me and

smooth out all the times those voices

That  tricked me into reducing myself. 

All of me is here  

I will bring all of me

everywhere

Recent Posts

See All

The Black Room

By Breonna Keller-Robbins We can all cry in solidarity but will these people leave still cradling that same solidarity when they’re no...

The Idea of Realization

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez The Idea of Realization is a poem I wrote describing the realization that I felt very alone as a person of color...

Reflection on Reina De Belleza

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez This poem is a reflection of my experience with the art piece Reina De Belleza by Lilliam Nieves. when I first...

Comments


bottom of page