top of page

The Idea of Realization

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez


The Idea of Realization is a poem I wrote describing the realization that I felt very alone as a person of color in my field of study and the work that I have done to lessen this feeling through finding community.


This was the creation of the true awakening

a headache with time

realization the power in unity and persistence

something growing within all

tired, tired of awakening to a new day

where I believe that an unchanging perspective could get me through these ominous days,

but this is where judgement faltered

this sense of responsibility, created through the simplicity of words

it carried the burden, suffering and fight of so many


those thoughts are made of nothing, they perhaps make me feel insecure

am I the only one with this problem?

it wanders and crawls until it is complete again

the lack, it is what drives me further into insanity

a state that I've been living in, and somehow cannot escape

or do you remember feeling this way,

as it all fell apart, but spread furthermore

I fell into something far…

the idea of it all

forgive the constructed agony


Recent Posts

See All

The Black Room

By Breonna Keller-Robbins We can all cry in solidarity but will these people leave still cradling that same solidarity when they’re no longer faced with the images? I felt underdressed. Part of me fee

McMinnville

By Wynton Skowrup When looking at the actual racial demographics for my hometown of McMinnville, Oregon, the percentage of Asian, black, and Latino residents is so far in the minority they hardly show

Reflection on Reina De Belleza

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez This poem is a reflection of my experience with the art piece Reina De Belleza by Lilliam Nieves. when I first approached, I didn't think much of it but at a glance she convey

bottom of page