top of page

The Black Room

By Breonna Keller-Robbins


We can all cry in solidarity

but will these people leave

still cradling that same solidarity

when they’re no longer faced

with the images?

I felt underdressed.

Part of me feels fine,

another part of me doesn’t feel fine.

We’re all allowed to mourn,

but why is there is a false sense of intimacy and support?

or is it a sense of false intimacy and false support?

Recognize this kind of conversation,

for there are no allowed tears in this room.

My room.

Our room.

The Black room.

People had shared their thoughts, emotions, and condolences regarding their experience in the room.

What do you do when their room is your reality?

The closer you walk the better you see,

the juxtaposition between us and them.

As the Black room works slowly,

the people work faster.

Recent Posts

See All

McMinnville

By Wynton Skowrup When looking at the actual racial demographics for my hometown of McMinnville, Oregon, the percentage of Asian, black, and Latino residents is so far in the minority they hardly show

The Idea of Realization

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez The Idea of Realization is a poem I wrote describing the realization that I felt very alone as a person of color in my field of study and the work that I have done to lessen t

Reflection on Reina De Belleza

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez This poem is a reflection of my experience with the art piece Reina De Belleza by Lilliam Nieves. when I first approached, I didn't think much of it but at a glance she convey

bottom of page