top of page

Reflection on Reina De Belleza

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez


This poem is a reflection of my experience with the art piece Reina De Belleza by Lilliam Nieves.


when I first approached, I didn't think much of it

but at a glance she conveys complexity


seeing her portrait reigning the world, with a drill as her weapon


I definitely felt

power.

strength.

her.


taking a closer look

I saw the distinct carving that created the portrait as a whole

but the carving marks by themselves resonated as delicate and formidable


She depicts herself on top of the world,

with a drill as her weapon


she addresses the differences in power

in both this world and her own

not to be her intended message


the different ways she holds power

she who finds herself in these positions

where she means power


It manifests into influence

impact

on an individual

or issue


she stands over the world

with a drill as her weapon

Recent Posts

See All

The Black Room

By Breonna Keller-Robbins We can all cry in solidarity but will these people leave still cradling that same solidarity when they’re no longer faced with the images? I felt underdressed. Part of me fee

McMinnville

By Wynton Skowrup When looking at the actual racial demographics for my hometown of McMinnville, Oregon, the percentage of Asian, black, and Latino residents is so far in the minority they hardly show

The Idea of Realization

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez The Idea of Realization is a poem I wrote describing the realization that I felt very alone as a person of color in my field of study and the work that I have done to lessen t

bottom of page