top of page

What if your childhood changed for the worse because of gentrification?

By Michaela Carter

Years later, today, as I am sitting thinking about my childhood, I begin to just have this urge to want to go check out the neighborhood I originally came from. While heading out to North Portland the graffiti that was created when I was there, the candy ladies house, and the “hood” corner stores are all gone. I begin to acknowledge and notice gentrification has taken over. The realization that my family, and other black families were truly pushed out so the white families, the ones who could afford the rent increase could move in. The houses are now remodeled, and the hood corner stores were now turned into thrift stores. Going back to my original childhood spot broke my heart, seeing my beautiful house, the beautiful I saw in it, even though the city and government didn’t see it, changed upside down tore me apart. The memories of our childhood garden in our yard were nonexistent now. My neighborhood altogether was unfortunately nonexistent.

Recent Posts

See All

The Black Room

By Breonna Keller-Robbins We can all cry in solidarity but will these people leave still cradling that same solidarity when they’re no longer faced with the images? I felt underdressed. Part of me fee

McMinnville

By Wynton Skowrup When looking at the actual racial demographics for my hometown of McMinnville, Oregon, the percentage of Asian, black, and Latino residents is so far in the minority they hardly show

The Idea of Realization

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez The Idea of Realization is a poem I wrote describing the realization that I felt very alone as a person of color in my field of study and the work that I have done to lessen t

bottom of page