top of page

A Light is Peaking Through

By Adrianna Marlen



A Light Is Peaking Through, was written when I first started my journey in coming to Oregon. This poem is very much representative of my journey here and it even extends to the path of me getting accepted into a higher level education as a first generation transfer female student. I wrote my poem when i was having the hardest time adjusting to the different living scenario in all of it's different faucets. In that moment I remember, being very frustrated trying to pursue my education path but I had my brother living with me in Corvallis at the time and he was still implementing my father's outdated patriarchal tradition ways onto me, when i thought I had left those constraining ways back in Southern California. I do not want to label it as machismo-ism because that patriarchal way is seen in other males and is not limited to any specific gender. This poem is dear to my heart because it was the beginning of me finding my own voice after so many years living to other people's agendas. I love my family and they have instilled so many great life lessons. My upbringing was great don't get me wrong but I was missing my sense of individuality and self and this poem is reflective of the start of me finding just that. Happy to say it is a trip every time I reread  A Light Is Peaking Through because it takes me back to the heavy transformative moments, just only 2 years ago.

Nothing is permanent & resiliency is beautiful. 


The Light is Peeking Through By Adrianna Marlen Here I stand, let me out. Here I stand, here my shout. Here I stand, I crave to learn Here I yell, crave to be heard! Here I shout, “Is this forever?!” Would you listen if I were to be more clever?! Here I sit where I ponder, Let us see if this goes on for any longer. Accept the beauty accept the depth But I will no longer care if you are to get upset. My tears and thoughts are deep and strong And they do too.. most certainly belong. Why are men the superior Whilst women are perceived to be the inferiors? We do not need to follow the outdated views of society Wake up world. And join the sobriety.

Recent Posts

See All

The Black Room

By Breonna Keller-Robbins We can all cry in solidarity but will these people leave still cradling that same solidarity when they’re no longer faced with the images? I felt underdressed. Part of me fee

McMinnville

By Wynton Skowrup When looking at the actual racial demographics for my hometown of McMinnville, Oregon, the percentage of Asian, black, and Latino residents is so far in the minority they hardly show

The Idea of Realization

By Araceli Ortiz Vasquez The Idea of Realization is a poem I wrote describing the realization that I felt very alone as a person of color in my field of study and the work that I have done to lessen t

bottom of page